Judy Blume on Book Banning and What It Means for Teachers and Librarians

“When I wrote Are You There, God? It’s Me, Margaret in 1970, I gave three copies to my children’s elementary school. Signed copies. And the male principal took them off the shelf. I think he gave them back to me. And he said, ‘We can’t have these books here.’ Little did I know what was coming in the ’80s. And then I thought, that’s it. We’re done with this. That’s never going to happen again. And here we are again. On steroids.”

Once a classic, always a classic

The above quote is part of Judy Blume’s rousing keynote speech to open the 2023 American Library Association Conference in Chicago on the 23rd June. It was a speech where she thanked librarians for defending the freedom to read against a politically-organised surge in book bans in the USA.

Judy also owns a bookstore in Florida, a state where teachers and librarians can now potentially be charged under a new law for making allegedly inappropriate books available to students. Charges that, if convicted, could lose them their jobs.

She has witnessed first-hand the effect of Florida’s book banning law on teachers and librarians. As Judy told the jam-packed conference audience: “There’s not a week goes by that I don’t have people in the store who are teachers, who are librarians, and who are being hit with this. One woman said to me, ‘This is my pension. I have worked all these years for this pension. I could lose it.’”

Serious stuff indeed. But are these the actions of a democracy or an authoritarian state? Whatever it is, I sure hope Australia never goes down this path.

If you’d like to read more about Judy’s speech, Publishers Weekly have posted the key points here.

Leave a comment