Hitting Hurdles . . . and Aerobatic Flying

Stephen King is quoted as saying, “The scariest moment when writing is always just before you start”.

Quite true.

But I’d like to add that hitting those hurdles we all hit when writing (well, I assume we all hit them – I know I do), when self-doubt, fear and good old writer’s block take hold, also feels mighty scary to me.

It’s when those not-so-wonderful questions plague my mind.

Like, who am I to think I could write this damn novel? And be the author I want to be? Is this story dumb? Are my characters/plot contrived? Is this manuscript a total waste of time?

What makes me think I can actually do this?

I don’t know. But I do know that I have faced other challenges, taken other risks and succeeded. As you will have to.

3rd photo flipped

Like aerobatic flying. Loops, twists and barrel rolls in a fighter jet. An item on my bucket list which I have completed, which now has a tick.

And which scared me half to death.

But I did it. And I can do this too.

As you can.

So if you, like me, sometimes feel like you are hitting hurdles, remember that hurdles can be knocked down, hurdles can be jumped over. And races can be won.

Especially the one against self-doubt and fear.

Remind yourself of your successes both within, and external to, your writing life.

And, as always, happy writing!

Rebecca

Leave a Reply

